Visionary Leadership Award Winners

The Cyber Security Summit has given awards to top leaders in industry, government and academia since 2015. In 2018, the awards program was expanded to include a wider array of visionaries. The goal is to recognize innovative people at all levels who help develop and foster strategies to protect critical systems and data.

The winners are recognized at the Visionary Leaders Awards Dinner in conjunction with the Annual Cyber Security Summit. Along with recognition for their accomplishments, award recipients will get a brief opportunity to share their innovative strategies with their peers and attendees of the Summit.

Visionary leaders from across the cyber security ecosystem are eligible to receive awards, which are known as “Morrie Awards.” The awards are named after Robert Tappan Morris, the American computer scientist who notably created the first computer worm on the Internet. He later went on to make significant contributions to computer networking as well as co-found the funding firm Y Combinator and become a tenured professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Congratulations to the 2019 Visionary Leadership Award winners.

Academic Leader Award: 
<strong>Christophe Veltsos</strong>
Christophe Veltsos
Professor, Minnesota State University Mankato
Applications Security Leader Award: 
<strong>Mike Kijewski</strong>
Mike Kijewski
CEO, MedCrypt
Global Security Leader Award: 
<strong>Andrew Borene</strong>
Andrew Borene
Senior Director, Symantec National Security Group; Director Homeland Security Program at George Mason University Law School
Governance Champion Award: 
<strong>Suzanne Spaulding</strong>
Suzanne Spaulding
Senior Adviser, Homeland Security, International Security Program, CSIS
Information Technology Audit Leader Award: 
<strong>Mary Frantz</strong>
Mary Frantz
CEO, Enterprise Knowledge Partners, LLC (EKP)
Security Awareness Program Leader Award: 
<strong>Jerrod Montoya</strong>
Jerrod Montoya
Deputy Chief Information Security Officer, Open Access Technology International (OATI); President, InfraGard Minnesota Chapter
Security Operations Leader Award: 
<strong>John Israel</strong>
John Israel
Security Operations Manager – Security Operations Center (SOC), Incident Response, and Forensics, State of Minnesota
Security Program And Oversight Leader Award: 
<strong>Jodie Kautt</strong>
Jodie Kautt
Vice President, Cyber Security, Target Corp.
Founders Award: 
<strong>National Cyber Defense Leadership<br> Center for Internet Security, Inc. (CIS®)</strong>
National Cyber Defense Leadership
Center for Internet Security, Inc. (CIS®)

For bios and more information on the 2019 awards, please click here.

Congratulations to the 2018 Visionary Leadership Award winners.

Academic Leader Award: 
<strong>FAISAL KALEEM</strong>
Metro State University, Professor, Department of Computer Science and Security, Executive Director, MN Cyber
Application Security Award: 
<strong>JENNIFER CZAPLEWSKI</strong>
Director, Target Product Intelligence team lead
Emerging Technologies Award: 
<strong>TODD CARPENTER</strong>
Adventium Labs, Chief Engineer
Global Security Leader Award: 
<strong>BRADLEY BREKKE</strong>
Mayo Clinic, Chief Security Officer (Interim)
Governance Champion Award: 
<strong>COL. STEFANIE HORVATH</strong>
Minnesota Army National Guard, Chief Information Officer (CIO) for the MN Department of Military Affairs; Executive Director Enterprise Services, Minnesota IT Services
IT Audit Award: 
<strong>STEEN FJALSTAD</strong>
Midwest Reliability Organization, Security and Mitigation Principal
Security Awareness Program Award: 
<strong>CHRYSA FREEMAN</strong>
Code42, Manager, Security Governance Risk & Compliance Awareness
Security Operations Award: 
<strong>NEAL DAWSON</strong>
State of Minnesota, Minnesota IT Services, Vulnerability Management Director
Student Award: 
<strong>RICHARD KETELSEN</strong>
Metropolitan State University, Student
Visionary Program Leader Award: 
<strong>JIM O’CONNER</strong>
Cargill, Chief Information Security Officer

For more information on the 2018 awards, please click here.

Congratulations to the 2016 Visionary Leadership Award winners.

In 2016, the Cyber Security Summit presented two Visionary Leader Awards – one for the private sector and one for the public sector. The individuals honored have made lasting contributions to improving our nation’s security.

Visionary Award for Public Sector: 
<strong>CHRIS BUSE</strong>
Deputy Legislative Auditor, Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor
Visionary Award for Private Sector: 
<strong>BRIAN ISLE</strong>
Senior Fellow, Adventium Labs; Senior Fellow, University of Minnesota Technological Leadership Institute

Read published articles at Chris Buse | Brian Isle

Congratulations to the 2015 Visionary Leadership Award winner.

<strong>DR. MASSOUD AMIN</strong>
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of Minnesota

For more information on the 2015 award, please click here. View Dr. Massoud Amin’s current bio at