Visionary Academic Leader


This award recognizes the leader of a pioneering cyber security academic program. Award nominations will be considered from academic leaders or security practitioners.
Sylvain Leblanc > Professor and Chair for Cybersecurity, Royal Military College of Canada
Dr. Sylvain (Sly) Leblanc is a Professor in Computer Engineering at the Royal Military College of Canada, where he is also Chair for Cybersecurity and Primary Investigator of the Computer Security Laboratory.
His research interests are in cybersecurity and cyber operations with major efforts in the Vehicular Systems, Network Counter-Surveillance and Deception Operations, Vulnerability & Security Assessments and Cyber Education. He works with the Director Cyber Operations Force Development on Cyber Policy Conceptual Development and Human Resource aspects of the Cyber Force. He was a Canadian Army Signals Officer for over 20 years, when he developed his interest in cybersecurity.


2022 Honoree


Chip Laingen

Executive Director, Defense Alliance

Chip Laingen is Executive Director of Defense Alliance, an SBA-funded technology cluster; Corporate VP, LSI, and graduate faculty at the University of Minnesota’s Technological Leadership Institute.  He has a masters in Public Affairs from the Humphrey Institute, and was a U.S. Navy Moreau Scholar in the National Security Ph.D. program of the Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy at Tufts University.  Commander Laingen is a 21-year Navy Veteran as an aviator and speechwriter to the Secretary of the Navy.  He finished his career in 2004 as a squadron commander.  He is the author of “Laingen on Leadership,” available on Amazon.

2022 > X > X
2021 > X > X
2020 > X > X
2019 > X > X
2018 > X > X
2017 > X > X
2016 > X > X
2015 > X > X
2014 > X > X
2013 > X > X
2012 > X > X